SSM – Day Six

Short Story MonthThis whole exercise could very well be the most futile, self-serving thing I’ve ever done, not to mention the most exhausting. Why am I doing this again? Oh yeah, because I love the short story, yadda yadda. :) I’m still brainstorming what other things I can do, partly so things over here liven up a bit, partly so we diverge a little from the EWN pledge. I’m still thinking, so hush, haha. But, yeah, if you got any ideas, message me. Hurry, because I’ve been thinking I’ll post a short story of mine here, every two days or so. My mind can’t take that much Oh Shit – ness, so come on. Haha. (Why do make SSM sound so desperate?)

And some exciting news: Carina‘s doing a pledge of her own for Short Story Month. :) YAY FICTION.

So. Today we’re getting our fiction from the archives over at The New Yorker. When you go clickie on the titles of the short stories, you’ll be redirected to an online copy. I figured that it gets annoying if I go on and on about short stories you haven’t read before, or you might probably never get to read given one reason or another – so go over there and see for yourself.

That said, the commentary will be minimal. Because to indulge when spoiler-age is so imminent is just so damned inconsiderate of me. So I guess that makes this post a link-link-link thing?

#16 – “Vast Hell” by Guillermo Martinez. I had clicked on this because I share the author’s surname, and if I close one eye, I can pretend it’s my story. Labo.

#17 – “Three” by Andrea Lee. Story reminds me a lot of “Deaths of Distant Friends” by John Updike in subject matter and form, but without Updike’s general dryness, no, wait, aridness. Lee’s protagonist tends to be more involved than Updike’s – so I guess that shows right there that these are two completely different stories.

#18 – “Sleep” by Roddy Doyle. When I first looked at it, my first thought was, “Oh, this is going to be a lovery-doody, slightly creepy post about the protagonist’s total devotion to the girl” because the story starts off with the man who loved to look at his lover while she was sleeping. But then it gets grittier from there, and after transcending the OOHLOVE opening, it only gets better.

*

Oh, and here are some short stories, found in online literary journals [that are not The New Yorker], that several virtual strangers forwarded to me. Because, apparently, my friends can’t be bothered. Hahaha. Haha. Hahahaha. Ha. :’| Thanks! And yes, I’ve read them, but I did not screen them, meaning that’s that. Annotations too, because I don’t know when to shut the blimp up.

#19 – “The Hungry” by Kerry Donoghue, and #20 “The Second Door” by Claire O’Connor, from The Fiction Circus. Ignore the psychedelic background. The stories are great.


#21
“Tease” by Amy Bell, from The Chimaera. Because any first sentence which has the word “stripper” in it raises its Puwede-ness several notches. Never mind that it’s too dry for me – after all, you don’t need to listen to my opinion, I only post the links. Tss.

#22 – “The Rules of Urban Living” by Kara Janeczko, from Anderbo.com. I have to admit that the opening lines of this short story got me hooked, haha. And I like the rest of the story. It’s a nice simple story with dead-on observations. Oh! And this story is a South Million Writers Finalist story. Okay? Was that needed to be said? No? Okay.

#23 – “Sleepwalkers” by Bernie McGill, from Zoetrope: All-Story. (I love this magazine, especially when I find it in Booksale for 65 bucks, hehe. It’s a Francis Ford Coppola project, by the way.) “Sleepwalkers” is the Grand Prize winner of the Zoetrope: All-Story Fiction Contest, and the editors have put in online for our viewing pleasure. Although I do find “Sleepwalkers” a little too, uh, setting-y. Because I’m the kind of girl who skips the part when the writer talks about the setting. I’m disrespectful that way. Don’t worry, I can’t write a decent setting to save my life.

*

Happy reading, kids!

*** WHAT THE HELL IS SHORT STORY MONTH?

About Sasha Martinez

Her sins were scarlet, but her books were read.

Leave a Reply

